The KHL will allign 22 teams in 2022-23 season

The KHL will allign 22 teams in 2022-23 season

Davide Tuniz06 Apr 2022Davide Tuniz»

Without Jokerit and Dinamo Riga, 22 teams is the smallest number of participants in the history of the league.


22 clubs will take part in the next season of the Kontinental Hockey League. On April 5, the KHL Board of Directors approved the composition of the participants for the 2022-2023 season.

22 teams is the smallest number of participants in the history of the league.

Jokerit Helsinki and Dinamo Riga left the league at the eve of playoffs, following the begin of war in Ukraine.  Both did not apply for participation in the championship for next season. Jokerit  GM Jari Kurri will leave his post on the KHL Board of Directors.

No new teams have been included in the list for next season

Earlier in the history of the KHL,  in three seasons (2010-2011, 2011-2012 and 2020-2021) the League counted with 23 teams

The maximum number of participants was recorded in the 2016-2017 season, when 29 clubs played in the regular season.

The Red Star Kunlun can be transferred to the Western Conference as KHL President Alexei Morozov admitted.

"Since they are based closer (starting from the 2020-2021 season, Kunlun plays home matches in Mytishchi). But we will decide on the board, - said Morozov.

The division of teams into divisions and conferences will be approved by the KHL Board.

1. Avangard (Omsk);
2. Avtomobilist (Yekaterinburg);
3. Admiral (Vladivostok);
4. Ak Bars (Kazan);
5. Amur (Khabarovsk);
6. Barys (Nur-Sultan - KAZ);
7. Vityaz (Moscow region);
8. Dinamo (Minsk - BLR);
9. Dynamo (Moscow);
10. Kunlun Red Star (Beijing - CHN, from the 2020-2021 season, plays home matches in Mytishchi)
11. Lokomotiv (Yaroslavl);
12. Metallurg (Magnitogorsk);
13. Neftekhimik (Nizhnekamsk);
14. Salavat Yulaev (Ufa);
15. Severstal (Cherepovets);
16. Sibir (Novosibirsk);
17. SKA (St. Petersburg);
18. Spartak (Moscow);
19. Torpedo (Nizhny Novgorod);
20. Traktor (Chelyabinsk);
21. HC Sochi (Sochi);
22. CSKA (Moscow).

Ico Facebook Ico Ico Stumbleupon Ico Twitter Ico Digg it
Recent transfersShow all transfers»
  1. 23 May 2022 |  Ben Betker  (D)
    HC TWK InnsbruckarrowFehervar AV19
  2. 23 May 2022 |  Šimon Stránský  (F)
    Jukurit MikkeliarrowHC Verva Litvínov
  3. 23 May 2022 |  Nikita Komarov  (F)
    Avangard OmskarrowSKA St. Petersburg
  4. 23 May 2022 |  Oliver Östergren  (F)
    Kalmar HCarrowunknown
  5. 23 May 2022 |  Anton Brandhammar  (D)
    Kalmar HCarrowunknown
  6. 23 May 2022 |  Daniel Taylor  (G)
    ERC Ingolstadtarrowunknown
  7. 23 May 2022 |  Lukáš Krejčík  (F)
    SC Kolínarrowretired as player

Current events

  • External links


    Czech Rep.:  Tipsport extraliga | 1.liga | 2.liga

    Finland:  Liiga | Mestis

    Germany:  DEL | DEL2

    Russia:  KHL | VHL

    Slovakia:  Tipsport Extraliga | 1.liga

    Sweden:  SHL | HockeyAllsvenskan

    Switzerland:  NLA | NLB

    Other:  EBEL | Belarus | Croatia | Denmark | Estonia | France | Great Britain | Iceland | Italy | Latvia | Lithuania | MOL-liga | Norway | Poland | Romania | Serbia | Slovenia | Spain | NHL | AHL |

    Leagues statistic
    League standings
    Game fixtures
    League leaders

    Slovan is back!

    Ten years after the last title, Slovan win Slovak Extraliga. Bratislava club is now the major winner of the competition with 9 titles Read more»

    Cardiff win Eihl Championship

    In a repeat of the last play off final in 2019, Cardiff became the winners of the Championship trophy for the third season in a row Read more»

    © Copyright 2022 European Ice Hockey Online AB & s.r.o. |
    Hokejová výstroj