Yunost Minsk wins the Extraliga for the third time in a row

Yunost Minsk wins the Extraliga for the third time in a row

Davide Tuniz07 Apr 2021Davide Tuniz»

The tenth title comes after a dominated final series, won in just 4 games.


Yunost Minsk  beat Gomel 4-0 in the series in the final and won the 2020/2021 season of Belarus Extraliga. It's the tenth title for Yunost, making the team from Minsk the major champion in the country. Yunost dominates the last seasons in Belarus: this final was the eighth in a row for Minskers, plus three titles of Belarus Cup

Thus,Yunost won gold medals for the third time in a row, with three different head coaches: Mikhail Zakharov, Alexander Makritsky and Evgeny Esaulov. Chairman Alexei Baranov, in the position since January set a unique achievement: he previously won the Extraliga as a player, coach, and now as staff

Gomel won silver medals for the first time since the 2008/2009 season, when the team also lost to Yunost.

In the game #4 of the finals, played in front of 2.700 fans, the decisive goal was scored in the second overtime by Sergei Drozd after 92 minutes and 51 seconds, which is the second longest result in the history of the Belarusian championship.

The longest meeting of the final took place in the Yunost and Shakhtar series in the 2015/16 season.Then the match ended at around 109: 26, and the winning goal was scored by Maxim Parfeevets.Yunost won the series 4-1.

Ico Facebook Ico Ico Stumbleupon Ico Twitter Ico Digg it
Recent transfersShow all transfers»

Current events

External links


Czech Rep.:  Tipsport extraliga | 1.liga | 2.liga

Finland:  Liiga | Mestis

Germany:  DEL | DEL2

Russia:  KHL | VHL

Slovakia:  Tipsport Extraliga | 1.liga

Sweden:  SHL | HockeyAllsvenskan

Switzerland:  NLA | NLB

Other:  EBEL | Belarus | Croatia | Denmark | Estonia | France | Great Britain | Iceland | Italy | Latvia | Lithuania | MOL-liga | Norway | Poland | Romania | Serbia | Slovenia | Spain | NHL | AHL |

Leagues statistic
League standings
Game fixtures
League leaders

Big troubles in Ukranian hockey (updated)

At the height of a conflict with clubs, the Federation pushed Donbas and Kramatorsk out of the League. Mariupol and Biliy Bars leave the League as sign of solidariety Read more»

Gomel progress to Superfinal

H K Gomel of Belarus will progress to the Superfinal after beating a weary looking Sheffield steelers 4-0. Read more»

© Copyright 2021 European Ice Hockey Online AB & s.r.o. |
Hokejová výstroj