Asia plays hockey!

Asia plays hockey!

Davide Tuniz04 Dec 2016Davide Tuniz»

A record of 20 men’s and 5 women’s teams will compete in ice hockey tournament at 2017 Asian Winter Games


In 1986, at the first edition of Asian Winter Games, just four men's teams partecipated at Icehockey tornament, won by China over Japan: 31 years later the Games are back in Sapporo, where the first and the second edition were played, with a record of 20 men’s and 5 women’s teams registered for the tournament. The original entry list included also India, Oman and DPR Korea, later withdrew.

“We have received a lot more entries than we expected,” said last April Hisatsugu Yamazaki, Manager of the Sports Affairs Department of the Sapporo Asian Winter Games Organising Committee after the deadline for application. “I am surprised that they play ice hockey in such hot countries. We were expecting about 16 teams in total for the men’s and women’s competitions, but we have 28 now.”

Because of the great partecipation, icehockey tournaments will be played in three different venues: Tsukisamu Gymnasium, Mikaho Gymnasium and Hoshioki Ice Skating Rink.

Due the noticeable difference between the level of teams, the format, as in the last edition of 2011 in Kazakhstan, sees teams divided in 3 groups, called Division, competing for three different medals. In 2011 twelve teams competed in two Division: Kazakhstan won the Elite, composed by 5 teams, while Kyrgyzstan was the champion of seven-teams Premier Division.

At Sapporo 2017, the Organizing Committee announced a further Division, called II Division, will be added, splitted in two groups, with the two top teams play a final for 11th-12th places and the runner-ups play for 13th-14th.

As today, the Divisions should look like this:

Top Division : 1. China, 2. Japan, 3. Kazakhstan, 4. South Korea

Division 1: 1. Chinese Taipei 2. Hong Kong, 3. Malaysia, 4. Singapore, 5. Thailand , 6. United Arab Emirates

Division 2: 1. Bahrain, 2. Kyrgyzstan, 3. Kuwait, 4. Iran, 5. Indonesia, 6. Macau, 7. Mongolia,  8. Philippines, 9. Qatar, 10. Turkmenistan

Chinese Taipei could possibly switch to Top Division (as in 2011)

Singapore, Philippines, Iran, Indonesia, Qatar, Turkmenistan compete for the first time in the tournament.

The women tournament featuring five teams, as in 2011, with novice Thailand replacing DPR Korea

Japan, China, South Korea, Kazakhstan, Thailand

Ico Facebook Ico Ico Stumbleupon Ico Twitter Ico Digg it
Recent transfersShow all transfers»
  1. 02 Oct 2022 |  Vladislav Dyukarev  (F)
    Toros NeftekamskarrowArlan Kokshetau
  2. 02 Oct 2022 |  Pascal Brunner  (F)
    EHC VisparrowHC Merano
  3. 02 Oct 2022 |  Ben Hawerchuk  (F)
    HC Meranoarrowunknown
  4. 01 Oct 2022 |  Jacob Meltzer  (D)
    Did not playarrowBarça Hockey Gel
  5. 01 Oct 2022 |  Ander Arraras  (D)
    CG PuigcerdàarrowBarça Hockey Gel
  6. 01 Oct 2022 |  Egoitz Gonzalez  (G)
    Did not playarrowCH Huarte
  7. 01 Oct 2022 |  Sergei Stetsyura  (F)
    Bilyỹ Bars Bila TserkvaarrowCG Puigcerdà

External links


Czech Rep.:  Tipsport extraliga | 1.liga | 2.liga

Finland:  Liiga | Mestis

Germany:  DEL | DEL2

Russia:  KHL | VHL

Slovakia:  Tipsport Extraliga | 1.liga

Sweden:  SHL | HockeyAllsvenskan

Switzerland:  NLA | NLB

Other:  EBEL | Belarus | Croatia | Denmark | Estonia | France | Great Britain | Iceland | Italy | Latvia | Lithuania | MOL-liga | Norway | Poland | Romania | Serbia | Slovenia | Spain | NHL | AHL |

Leagues statistic
League standings
Game fixtures
League leaders

Polska Hokej Liga started - An introduction

The Polska Hokej Liga started the new season with huge upsets and surprises in the first rounds, it is really becoming a very interesting league to follow. Here is a quick summary of what we’ve seen so far and what we ... Read more»

KHL Sisak made history

At its first ever partecipation, Croatian team finished with a perfect record the Continental Cup Group A Read more»

© Copyright 2022 European Ice Hockey Online AB & s.r.o. |
Hokejová výstroj