Dutch Eredivisie changes format

Dutch Eredivisie changes format

09 Jul 2012 | Davide Tuniz

North Sea Cup retires after two years and league is back to a simple format

Dutch federation changes the Eredivisie, bringing back the Elite competition to a simple format. The Dutch cup will be no longer seen as a separate league and the North Sea Cup - the competition between Dutch and the top three Belgian clubs - won't be played anymore after two seasons.

2012-13 Eredivisie will count seven teams, six from the Netherlands - champion Smoke Eaters Geleen, Amsterdam Capitals, HYS The Hague, Eindhoven Kemphanen, Friesland Flyers and Tilburg Trappers and one from Belgium, HYC Herentals. Belgian team will be a full member of the league and can be champion oh the Netherlands at the end of the year. Herentals, however, won't participate in the national cup. No clubs were promoted from Eerste Divisie and the other Belgian club playing in North Sea Cup - Leuven and Turnhout - won't partecipate. At the end of regular season the the top four clubs will advance to the playoffs, played as in the past with a best-of-five semifinals between first and fourth seed and second vs third. Eredivisie will start on 6-7 October weekend but season, as usual, will open with the Ron Berteling Schaal - the game between league champion and cup winner - between HYS The Hague and  Ruijters Eaters Geleen on September 30.
The Dutch Cup will be played between teams from the Eredivisie and the Eerste Divisie. Games will be during the week with a knockout system with a home and an away match. The semifinals are played at best-of-three. The teams from the Eerste Divisie play each other in the first two rounds and the two remaining teams will then enter in main grid with the teams from the Eredivisie. The Cup final will be on 13 January 2013 in Tilburg.
Eerste Division will allign: Dordrecht, Den Bosch, Groningen, Utrecht, Zoetermeer, Nijmegen and the second teams of Eindhoven and The Hague.
Ico Facebook Ico Del.icio.us Ico Stumbleupon Ico Twitter Ico Digg it
Recent transfersShow all transfers»


Czech Rep.:  Tipsport extraliga | 1.liga | 2.liga

Finland:  Liiga | Mestis

Germany:  DEL | DEL2

Russia:  KHL | VHL

Slovakia:  Tipsport Extraliga | 1.liga

Sweden:  SHL | HockeyAllsvenskan

Switzerland:  NLA | NLB

Other:  EBEL | Belarus | Croatia | Denmark | Estonia | France | Great Britain | Iceland | Italy | Latvia | Lithuania | MOL-liga | Norway | Poland | Romania | Serbia | Slovenia | Spain | NHL | AHL |

Leagues statistic
League standings
Game fixtures
League leaders

CSKA, Zvezda Moscow and HK Chelny are declared champions

The Russian Federation declared champions the teams at the top of standing when the Leagues were stopped Read more»

Sweden’s SHL championship: Enjoying a game and getting the most out of it

There are a few reasons Ice Hockey has taken the world by storm in recent decades. Namely, the improvement of the sport and the refinement of the culture that surrounds and props it up. ... Read more»

© Copyright 2020 European Ice Hockey Online AB & eSports.cz s.r.o. | info@eurohockey.com
Hokejová výstroj