Want your name, logo or link here ? Sponsor this profile.

National Ice Hockey League (UK)


Did you find any incorrect or incomplete information? Please, let us know.

Recent transfersShow all transfers»
04 Dec 2019 | Joshua Tetlow  (D) Nottingham PanthersarrowPeterborough Phantoms
15 Nov 2019 | Oļegs Šišļaņņikovs  (F) Hull PiratesarrowDonbas Donetsk
14 Nov 2019 | Joshua Ealey Newman  (F) Bracknell HornetsarrowBracknell Bees
10 Oct 2019 | Brandon Whistle  (F) Sheffield SteelersarrowTelford Tigers
League leaders |  season 2019-2020 all time stats
# Player name Pos Team GP G A P PIM +/-
1.Jason HewittFHull Pirates1719284744
2.Tomasz MalasinskiFSwindon Wildcats211429438
3.Aaron NellFSwindon Wildcats2120193910
4.Lee BonnerRWHull Pirates1917173420
5.Bobby ChamberlainFHull Pirates1517173455
6.Petr ŠtěpánekFPeterborough Phantoms2016173318
7.Nathan SalemFSheffield Steeldogs1915183316
8.Dominik FlorianFTelford Tigers1813203342
9.Kieran BrownFSheffield Steeldogs179243312
10.Martins SustersFPeterborough Phantoms2016153140
Show all stats for season 2019-2020
League standings stage:

GROUP: Combined

# Club G W W-OTL-OTL Score P
1Telford Tigers211423298:68 35
2Swindon Wildcats211412499:62 32
3Peterborough Phantoms221300991:71 26
4Basingstoke Bison20931781:72 25
5Hull Pirates208327101:96 24
6Sheffield Steeldogs20911976:75 21
7Bracknell Bees205321063:81 18
8London Raiders217021269:99 16
9Milton Keynes Lightning205121263:89 14
10Leeds Chiefs193101555:83 8


# Club G W L Score P


# Club G W L Score P
Last updated: 04 Dec 2019, 08:07

Any team play each of the other teams in their league a total of four times; twice home, twice away.

At the end of the regular season, the top 4 from each division enter the playoffs, the quarter finals of which are over two legs. The semi finals are a single match between teams from the same division, and the champions are decided by a single final.

Relegation is decided by two games between top of league two and bottom of league one for each division; winner goes up, loser goes down.

There is also an ENIHL cup with two groups of five teams who play each other team twice. The winners of the two groups play each other in two final games.

  • from 1996 to 2012: ENIHL
  • from 2012 to present: National Ice Hockey League (UK)

The ENIHL was formed in 1996.

The English National Ice Hockey League (ENIHL) is an amateur ice hockey league below the English Premier Ice Hockey League which is administered by the English Ice Hockey Association. It was announced on May 17, 2012, that as the league now includes several teams from Scotland and Wales as well as England, it will be renamed the National Ice Hockey League from season 2012/13.[1]
The league is split into two conferences, north and south. The league is now the third tier in ice hockey after the demise of the British National League.
The league has now been further split for 2008/2009 with 2 divisions in both the north and south with promotion/relegation between the two divisions.

In April 2007, the EIHA lowered the upper age limit within the junior leagues, abolishing the under 19 age limit to become under 18. Due to the large gap from junior level to the EPIHL, many teams were forced to enter a reserve team into the ENIHL. This increased the size of the league from 22 teams through to 30 teams for the 2007/2008 season

Later in the 2007 off-season, the EIHA suggested introducing an under 25 age limit across the league. However, this age limit was removed within weeks in favour of a drive towards developing players.

Recent articlesShow all articles»
Recent newsShow all news»

Re-vamp of UK hockey

From next season the second tier of UK hockey will be the National Ice Hockey League. This was originally the third tier of hockey but the old English Premier League has had to be re-structured and it was felt that the best thing to do would be to invite the current clubs in that league to join the NIHL.

(18 May 2017)

Bristol out of ENL

Bristol Pitbulls have announced they're withdrawing their ENL1 South team for next season, though they will ice a team in Division Two

(23 Jul 2012)

English National League changes name

English National League has undergone a name change. The word English has been dropped and the league will now been known as The National Ice Hockey league. Why the change? There have always been teams involved from Wales and now with the inclusion of a Scottish team it was thought it was appropriate to reflect all National elements of the sport within this league.

(28 May 2012)

Nottingham Lions retired their number #7

The Nottingham Lions have announced the retirement of the number 7 jersey, as forward Chris Colegate revealed he is quitting hockey after twelve years with the club.

It is the first time any Lions player has received the honour.

(17 May 2012)

Chelmsford Chieftains ENL South Champions

Chelmsford Chieftains secured the ENL South Play-Off championship as they overcame bitter rivals Romford Raiders with a 6-2 second leg win, after the first tie had ended 4-4 the night before.

(23 Apr 2012)

Oxford City Stars announce new coach

Simon Anderson will take over the role of team coach for Oxford City Stars with immediate effect replacing Ken Forshee. Following a disappointing first half season team directors, Elaine Sutcliffe and John Harrison, made the change in a bid to revitalise the performance of the team. "Simon was recommended to us and it is clear that he is passionate about hockey at Oxford. He has a long successful coaching history and brings a lot of experience, Simon is determined to see the team reach the play offs".

(29 Dec 2011)
01 Dec 2019Leeds Chiefs - Milton Keynes Lightning2-4
01 Dec 2019London Raiders - Peterborough Phantoms4-7
01 Dec 2019Hull Pirates - Telford Tigers4-7
01 Dec 2019Bracknell Bees - Sheffield Steeldogs4-5 OT
Leagues statistic
Past league results:
League standings:
Historic statistic:
Individuals records:
Fast factsseason 2019-2020

All Change in the Eihl

Rosters are changed throughout ice hockey for several reasons: the player didn’t settle well in a new country, he was deemed not to be a good fit for the team etc etc. So this is not just unique to the EIHL but ... Read more»

Who Will Claim the Ice Hockey World Title in 2020?

First held at the 1920 Summer Olympics, the IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship is an annual tournament and one of the most exciting ones as well. The high-profile tournament was formed in 1908 and first held in 1920. In the beginning, ... Read more»

© Copyright 2019 European Ice Hockey Online AB & eSports.cz s.r.o. | info@eurohockey.com
Hokejová výstroj